2017 Water Institute Fellows

Congratulations to David Kaplan (left) and Sanjay Shukla (right) – this year’s Water Institute’s Faculty Fellow Award recipients. To learn more visit http://waterinstitute.ufl.edu/people/spotlight/index_detail.asp?ID=84


Next Leaders Reunion Program- CIGR

UF ABE professors Won-Suk “Daniel” Lee and John K. Schueller were of the academic faculty selected to participate in the “Next Leaders” reunion program of Section III (Plant Production) of the International Commission of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering.   The fourteen participants also included Prof. Daniel Marchal de Queiroz of Universidade Federal de Vicosa (Brazil) and Prof. Michihisa Iida of Kyoto University (Japan) who had spent year-long sabbaticals in UF ABE.   The group visited agricultural equipment manufacturers in Iowa and Illinois, various fruit orchards in Washington state, and participated in special events at the Annual International Meeting of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers in Spokane.

The attached photos are of their visits to John Deere, CNH Industrial and apple and cherry orchards in Washington State.

Two ABE Faculty Selected to ISFS Fellows Program

Congratulations to Drs. Senthold Asseng and Greg Kiker on their selection as part of 2017 inaugural class of the Institute for Sustainable Food Systems’ (ISFS) Fellows Program! This fellowship provides up to $9000 towards development of a working group and a $3000 salary supplement for two years. As an ISFS Fellow, they will have a unique opportunity to build and lead a collaborative team over two years to address significant issues in sustainability of food systems and decision-making.

Congratulations Senthold and Greg!

For more information about their proposed work or about the ISFS, visit http://isfs.institute.ifas.ufl.edu/ 

Three Haitian students welcomed to graduate studies at UF ABE

By: Victoria Price

This fall, three Haitian students will begin studying their Master’s in Agricultural and Biological Engineering. Floyid Nicolas, Rédjino Mompremier, and Josué St Fort will begin their graduate studies as part of the MS Graduate Program with the Feed the Future Haiti Appui à la Recherche et au Développement Agricole project (AREA). Our department welcomes 3 of the 15 AREA MS graduate students at UF in addition to another 2 enrolled at Louisiana State University.

All three incoming ABE students are eager to begin their graduate program with the ABE department’s distinguished faculty. In his graduate program, Nicolas hopes to pursue research on geographic information systems (GIS) and hydrology for his thesis under major professor, Kati White Migliaccio. Mompremier will be working under major professor Young Gu Her and plans to focus on irrigation scheduling based on soil moisture modeling to improve agricultural production and water use efficiency. Looking at food security and working under major professor Clyde Fraisse, St. Fort intends to begin researching climatology and hopes to create a digital tool through biological modeling to help track Haitian crops.


Haiti students
Floyid Nicolas (left), Josue St Fort ( middle) and Rédjino Mompremier (right) will start their graduate program in ABE department this fall.

During their graduate programs, the students will work with public and private sectors in Haiti to promote agricultural modernization, and provide research-based information and recommendations for farmers to improve food security. To provide guidance and support to their graduate research, each Haitian graduate student will have a research professional from Haiti on their graduate committees along with other faculty members from ABE department and within UF/IFAS.

The Feed the Future Haïti Appui à la Recherche et au Développement Agricole (AREA) is a five-year funded project made possible by the American people through USAID as part of the U.S. Government’s Feed the Future initiative to reduce global hunger. The AREA Project is led by the University of Florida International Institute for Food and Agricultural Sciences (UF/IFAS Global) with consortium implementers Louisiana State University and University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

2017 ASABE Annual International Meeting

2017 ASABE web banner_REV.inddUF ABE faculty and students had a tremendous presence and participation at the ASABE Annual International Meeting held in Spokane, Washington, July 16-19th. Among the many presentations, moderated sessions and posters were three faculty and  students who were recognized with society awards. The UF ABE Robotics team also competed in the Robotics Competition.

Congratulations to the following:

Mike Dukes2017 Fellow of ASABE (for professional distinction, with outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in, or related to, the field of agricultural, food, or biological systems engineering)

Kati MigliaccioG.B. Gunlogson Countryside Engineering Award (for superior research and extension programs fostering water conservation by irrigators in the eastern US)

Joe SaguesBoyd-Scott Graduate Research Award (recognition for excellence in the conduct and presentation of research to build the knowledge base needed by engineers who design equipment, facilities, and processes for the sustainable operation of a biological system)

UF ABE Robotics Team– Hao Gan, Akram Gholami, Azadeh Azar, Alizedah Azar- 4th Place




Success at the Florida Section ASABE Annual Conference and Trade Show

Great things happen every year at the annual FASABE Conference and Trade Show. This year’s conference was no exception and took place in Jupiter, FL from June 21-24, 2017.

Not only do participants have the opportunity to interact with vendors, network with peers, participate in informational general and technical sessions and earn professional development hours but many awards and recognitions are given as well.

This year, the following ABE faculty and students were recognized. Congratulations to the following:

Eban Bean, Ph.D.Outstanding Young Extension Worker Award 2017

Jim Leary,- recognized for 25 years of active membership

Richard Scholtz– recognized for Outstanding Service and Dedication- Chair of the Florida Section of ASABE 2017

Carlynn ChappelOutstanding Student Award 2017

Karl Max Wallace–  first place grad student presentation competition

Hao Gansecond place grad student presentation competition

2017 Prudential Productivity Award Winners – Max Williams and James Canter

James Canter and Max Williams

Congratulations to James Canter and Max Williams for their recognition with a 2017 Prudential Productivity Award from the University of Florida. James Canter serves as the IT specialist for ABE and Max Williams serves as the Administrative Services Coordinator.

The Prudential Productivity Award is an annual event honoring dedicated state employees who develop and implement innovative, cost-saving, and efficient improvements in delivering state services and products. This is a joint effort of the Florida TaxWatch, the Florida Council of 100, and the State of Florida to honor state employees throughout Florida.

Read more about the winners here: https://administrativememo.ufl.edu/2017/05/2017-prudential-productivity-award-winners-announced/