Asseng named to AgMIP global leadership panel


Senthold Asseng, Professor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering


Congratulations to Dr. Senthold Asseng for being named to the  global leadership panel for the Agricultural Model Intercomparison and Improvement Program (AgMIP)! Dr. Asseng is known for his work using computer models to predict crop yields, has worked as co-leader of the AgMIP wheat team and has also lead American-based and internationally organized research projects.

AgMIP is an effort by agricultural scientists from around the world to improve the state of agricultural simulation and to understand climate impacts on the agricultural sector at global and regional scales.

“AgMIP scientists recognize that many of the climate change and global food security issues are beyond individual scientists and institutions to be solved,” Asseng said. “By creating collaborative research teams, AgMIP addresses research questions which require multi-disciplinary expertise including agricultural scientists, social scientists, modelers of crops, climate, agricultural economics, crop physiologists, field experimentalists, crop and animal breeders, nutritionists, biostatisticians and software engineers.”

For more information on Dr. Asseng’s appointment and AgMIP, visit UF/IFAS Blogs.


ABE Grad Student Wins UF 3MT

Thiago receives 1st place award at UF 3MT competition

Congratulations to ABE graduate student Thiago Borba Onofre who won the UF Graduate School’s Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition! His thesis presentation is titled A Wireless Sensor Network for a Strawberry Disease Warning System. Thiago’s advisor is Dr. Clyde Fraisse, who specializes in the development of climate risk mitigation tools for agricultural and natural resources managers. Thiago advances to the regional competition at the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools (CSGS) on February 22-25, 2018 held in Fayetteville, Arkansas, to compete again. Great job, Thiago!



2017 Water Institute Fellows

Congratulations to David Kaplan (left) and Sanjay Shukla (right) – this year’s Water Institute’s Faculty Fellow Award recipients. To learn more visit

Mentoring Highlights: ABE Halloween


We had a great time at our Halloween Social this year! This annual departmental event is hosted by the Mentoring Program and challenges mentor- mentee pairs to come in paired costumes.  Fun for all!

Best Individual Costume: Ian Hahus – 70’s Basketball Star
Best Mentor-Mentee Costume: Marco and Reginald – ABE Police



Check out some of the other costumes below!



ABE 3 Minute Thesis + Videos 2017

If you attended ABE’s Three Minute Thesis and Video Contest (3MT+V) last Thursday evening (Oct. 25, 2017), you know what a great job everyone did!

Congratulations to the following 3MT winners and participants:

  • Kirsten Paff
  • Ixchel Hernandez
  • Marcelo Calle
  • Victoria Morgan
  • Thiago Onofre- 1st place- $75
  • Kira Hansen- runner-up- $50

Congratulations to the following video (2V) winners and participants:

  • Hao Gan- People’s Choice Award- $75
  • Thiago Onofre
  • Nick Cavallaro
  • Marco Pazmino



 THANK YOU to the Graduate Professional Development Committee and Chair Thiago Onofre, our judges Amy Buhler and Stephanie Webster, Dr. Haman and the ABE Department for support and cash prizes, Daniel Preston for technical support, and most of all to the students for stepping out of their comfort zone and challenging themselves to present their research in 3 minutes or less!

 Stay tuned for more success as three of our grads move on to compete at the University 3MT with the first heat beginning tomorrow and the finals on November 9th at 2 pm.

Next Leaders Reunion Program- CIGR

UF ABE professors Won-Suk “Daniel” Lee and John K. Schueller were of the academic faculty selected to participate in the “Next Leaders” reunion program of Section III (Plant Production) of the International Commission of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering.   The fourteen participants also included Prof. Daniel Marchal de Queiroz of Universidade Federal de Vicosa (Brazil) and Prof. Michihisa Iida of Kyoto University (Japan) who had spent year-long sabbaticals in UF ABE.   The group visited agricultural equipment manufacturers in Iowa and Illinois, various fruit orchards in Washington state, and participated in special events at the Annual International Meeting of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers in Spokane.

The attached photos are of their visits to John Deere, CNH Industrial and apple and cherry orchards in Washington State.

Two ABE Faculty Selected to ISFS Fellows Program

Congratulations to Drs. Senthold Asseng and Greg Kiker on their selection as part of 2017 inaugural class of the Institute for Sustainable Food Systems’ (ISFS) Fellows Program! This fellowship provides up to $9000 towards development of a working group and a $3000 salary supplement for two years. As an ISFS Fellow, they will have a unique opportunity to build and lead a collaborative team over two years to address significant issues in sustainability of food systems and decision-making.

Congratulations Senthold and Greg!

For more information about their proposed work or about the ISFS, visit